Sports

India vs England 2 Tests: Did Akash Deep get the route with an inappropriate delivery? Decision of MCC issues | Cricket news

Joe Root was deepened by Akash Deep in the second innings of the second exam between India and England. (AP/PTI)

The Marilebone Cricket Club (MCC) has officially clarified that the delivery of Akash Deep, which recently rejected the route during the Edgbaston Test, was legal, which addresses a dispute that emerged about the position of the leg behind the bowler. The MCC, who serves as the patron of cricket laws, stated that the validity of a delivery is determined, where the leg first land, not its later position, to relax the debate arising after the footage, appeared to touch deep’s feet outside the return crease.The dismissal took place during the second delivery of the tenth when Akash bowled deeply with the upcoming delivery between England and India. The wicket proved to be important as it reduced England by 50/3, chasing the target of 608 runs.Go beyond the border with our YouTube channel. Subscribe now!The controversy began when television footage showed the back leg of the deep to a potentially returning crease, which discussed whether it should have been called a no-ball. During a studio discussion on Gostar, several commentators, including former England batsman Jonathan Trot, questioned the validity of delivery.The third umpire Paul Refel did not interfere in delivery, while on-field umpires of Chris Gaffaini and Sharfudaula Saik allowed the dismissal to stand up. Former India coach Ravi Shastri, who was commenting at that time, said the delivery was legal.The MCC spokesperson provided a detailed interpretation of the ruling: “Last week, on the day of India’s four -day test against England, questions were raised about delivery from Akash Deep, who bowled the root, there was no belief with some fans and commentators that it was no ball. While the deep crease was unusually wide, and some legs behind it appeared to touch the ground outside the crease, the third umpire did not say no ball. MCC is happy to clarify that it was a correct decision in the law, “reported Crackbase,MCC mentioned the law 21.5.1, stating: “For a delivery for a delivery in relation to the feet, the bowler should descend inside the back leg in delivery and not touch the return crease for his declared mode of delivery.”Read | Akash Deep: A Mohammad Rafi fan, who once called the game of cricket ‘Aryone,’ never trusted his ‘skills’ and is now Edgbaston Hero of IndiaExplaining the interpretation, MCC explained: “MCC has always defined the moment that the first leg is the first point of contact with the ground. As soon as any part of the leg is touching the ground, it has landed the leg, and it is the time the position of the foot that is considered to be for the back foot.”

Sky-deep bowling

The dismissal of Akash Deep made Joe Root’s dismissal made a vibrations for no ball during the second test between India and England in Edgbaston. (Image: Screenshot)

MCC concluded: “Clearly, at the point Deep’s leg touched the ground first, the back leg was inside and the return was not touching the crease. Some of his legs may later touched the ground outside the crease – it is not relevant to this law. At the point of landing he was within the crease, and hence it was considered to be a legal delivery.”England were eventually excluded for 271 on the last day, resulting in India’s series-tier win 336 runs in the second Test of the five-match series.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button